Access to Vocation Training

In the  “House of the Future” the Fundación Pueblo girls and young women from the country have the opportunity to complete a solid vocational training. Doors to a qualified profession are opened. Some even start their own small business. So the cycle of poverty is broken, even if the women want to migrate to the city.

Poor opportunities for young women from the countryside

In rural areas of Bolivia there are hardly any opportunities to benefit from a vocational training that comes even close to the same level in the urban centers of the country, especially for female adolescents. So most of the girls and young women who hope to find a way out of the grinding poverty of the countryside migrate to the city from their home communities only to find themselves again being poorly paid and poorly treated domestic workers. The vicious circle of poverty is not broken by migration, only shifted from the countryside to the city.

In the big cities of Bolivia there are good technical training centers that provide a nationally recognised and valued qualification in the labor market. They charge little or no tuition fees. However girls and young women from the countryside do not use these deals, because the cost of living in the city is far beyond the financial resources of their parents.  The way out for a female youth trying to earn a living in the city with child or youth work, always comes at the cost of the training period.  Left to fend for themselves  in the city many girls and young women fall victim to the unfamiliar risks of urban life, such as drug use and prostitution.

A new life with confidence and a  professional  qualification

The Fundación Pueblo’s project “Access to technical training”  breaks this vicious cycle by offering female teenagers from the country a year supervised in our “House of the Future” in El Alto (La Paz). By obtaining a skilled technical professional qualification, the young people get significantly better chances of finding a more sophisticated and better-paid job. At a later date a family formed will have a more solid foundation. What the young women have learnt in the vocational school and though their internships is often used to set up their own small operation, whether in the city or in their rural home region, in the form of for example a tailor shop or a small bakery.

As well as the technical training offered, the Fundación Pueblo also offers the  youths in the “House of the Future” an extra-curricular training program. These include remedial classes in voice, writing and computer courses that introduce young people to the required level in the city. Events and joint activities in the field of health and sexual education, culture, sports and team building are aimed in particular at strengthening the skills and self-confidence of the girls and young women.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Join Maribel to her home village, work practices and the “House of the Future” in El Alto (a Spanish language broadcast by Bolivian TV youth program “PICA”)

Girls of the "House of the Future" join students of Calvert High School in trekking the pre-Inca “Takesi” Trail (a Spanish language broadcast by Bolivian TV youth program "PICA")

Fundación Pueblo 2018, La Paz.
All content is licensed under Creative Commons CC BY 4.0.

Zugang zu Berufsbildung

Im „Haus der Zukunft“ der Fundación Pueblo haben Mädchen und junge Frauen vom Lande die Möglichkeit, eine solide Berufsausbildung zu absolvieren. Türen zu einem qualifizierten Arbeitsplatz werden eröffnet. Manche gründen sogar einen eigenen kleinen Betrieb. So wird der Teufelskreis der Armut durchbrochen, auch wenn die Frauen in die Stadt abwandern wollen.

Schlechte Chancen für junge Frauen vom Land

In ländlichen Gebieten Boliviens bestehen speziell für weibliche Jugendliche kaum Möglichkeiten, in den Genuss einer Berufsausbildung zu kommen, die dem Niveau in den städtischen Zentren des Landes auch nur nahe kommt. So finden sich die meisten Mädchen und jungen Frauen, die sich aus der Abwanderung in die Stadt einen Ausweg aus der bitteren Armut in ihren Heimatgemeinden erhoffen, dort als schlecht bezahlte und schlecht behandelte Hausangestellte wieder. Der Teufelskreis der Armut wird durch die Migration nicht durchbrochen, sondern lediglich vom Land in die Stadt verschoben.

Dabei gibt es in den großen Städten Boliviens gute technische Ausbildungszentren, die einen staatlich anerkannten und auf dem Arbeitsmarkt geschätzten Abschluss vermitteln. Sie erheben keine oder nur geringe Schulgebühren. Mädchen und junge Frauen vom Lande können diese Angebote jedoch in der Regel nicht nutzen, da die Lebenshaltungskosten in der Stadt weit jenseits der finanziellen Möglichkeiten ihrer Eltern liegen. Der Ausweg der weiblichen Jugendlichen, sich den Lebensunterhalt in der Stadt durch Kinder/Jugendarbeit selbst zu verdienen, geht stets auf Kosten der Ausbildungszeit. Auf sich selbst gestellt, fallen nicht wenige Mädchen und junge Frauen vom Lande den ihnen wenig vertrauten Risiken städtischen Lebens wie Drogenkonsum oder Prostitution zum Opfer.

Mit Berufsanschluss und Selbstbewusstsein in ein neues Leben

Das Projekt „Zugang zu technischer Ausbildung“ der Fundación Pueblo sprengt diesen Teufelskreis, indem es weibliche Jugendliche vom Lande für ein Jahr in unserem „Haus der Zukunft“ in El Alto (La Paz) aufnimmt und betreut. Es ermöglicht ihnen während dieser Zeit den Besuch einer anerkannten technischen Ausbildungsstätte in La Paz. Mit Erlangen eines qualifizierten technischen Berufsabschlusses bekommen die Jugendlichen erheblich bessere Chancen, einen anspruchsvolleren und besser bezahlten Arbeitsplatz zu finden. Eine spätere Familiengründung hat dann eine solidere Grundlage. Das in Berufsschule und Betriebspraktika Erlernte wird oft auch dazu genutzt, einen eigenen kleinen Betrieb zu gründen – sei es in der Stadt oder in ihrer ländlichen Heimatregion, etwa in Form einer Schneiderei oder einer kleinen Bäckerei.

Über die technische Ausbildung hinaus bietet Fundación Pueblo den Jugendlichen im „Haus der Zukunft“ ein außerschulisches Weiterbildungsprogramm an. Dazu zählt Förderunterricht in Sprach-, Schreib- und Computerkursen, die die Jugendlichen an das in der Stadt erforderte Niveau heranführen. Veranstaltungen und gemeinsame Aktivitäten im Bereich Gesundheit und sexuelle Aufklärung, Kultur, Sport und Teambuilding zielen insbesondere auf die Stärkung der Fähigkeiten und des Selbstbewusstseins der Mädchen und jungen Frauen ab.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Spendenaktion

Hier kann man unsere Azubi-Stipendiatin Maribel in ihr Heimatdort, an ihren Ausbildungsplatz und ins das „Haus der Zukunft“ begleiten (ein Beitrag in der bolivischen TV-Jugendsendung „PICA“, auf Spanisch)

Ein gemeinsamer Ausflug der Azubi-Stipendiatinnen aus dem Haus der Zukunft mit den Schülern des Calvert-Gymnasiums auf den vorkolumbinen Takesi-Weg (ein Beitrag in der bolivischen TV-Jugendsendung "PICA", auf Spanisch)

Fundación Pueblo 2017, La Paz.
All content is licensed under Creative Commons CC BY 4.0.