History

The Fundación Pueblo (translation The Village Foundation) was founded on 18 February 1991 in the Bolivian Andean village Yanacachi. This is one of the historic district capitals of the province of the South Yungas in the Andean valleys of La Paz. The Bolivian government recognised the Fundación Pueblo as a charity in 1992, with the Presidential Decree no. 210445. It was registered as a legal entity in 2013 in accordance with the law no. 351, also in the new Bolivian government.

The charity is denominationally and politically independent. This was firmly anchored in the statutes.

No Rockefeller Foundation

At the beginning the founders’ assets consisted of two small buildings in Yanacachi – a house on the village square, which to this day still serves as the village service office; and ‘the House of the Teacher’, which was able to fulfil different social functions in the village during the Foundation history.  Thanks to the commitment of friends and supporters a multi-storey house in El Alto was added a few years ago, it is situated just outside the city of La Paz and is used as an inn and a meeting centre for women from the countryside. The funds for the implementation of programs and projects come from ongoing donations and special contributions from the founders, friends and partner organisations of Fundación Pueblo.

Transparency and participation

The board of the Foundation is made up of the two founding members – Günther Schulz-Heiss and Barbara Heiss and a representative of the district of Yanacachi. In accordance with the Statutes this representative will always be elected by the residents of the home district of Fundación Pueblo from their midst.  The Executive Director, who is responsible for the foundation’s daily work, is also appointed for a term of two years by the board. He submits annual plans to the Executive Board and reports on their implementation.

To ensure the participation of the target groups, the transparency and the ‘grounding’ of the Foundation, every year a public meeting of the Fundación Pueblo takes place in Yanacachi. All employees of the foundation are then accountable for the project’s activities in the previous year and accept proposals for new initiatives. This procedure is enshrined in the statutes and is rather unusual for non-governmental organisations.

Recognition on both sides

On the walls of the Foundation offices in Yanacachi hang many letters and certificates from our target groups, partner organisations and community representatives, which reflect the 20 years of continuous work in the field. Regular reporting in the Bolivian media attests to the recognition of the Foundation’s work in Bolivia.

In 2007 the  Regional Organisation of the United Nations Foundation CEPAL  awarded the project ‘Access to Primary Schooling, Students in host families’ citing it as one of the best social innovations in Latin America (see PDF or UNICEF, in Spanish). In 2014 Germany’s Federal President Gauck honoured the founders of the Foundation with the Federal Cross of Merit for their commitment to civil society. (Here is a relating article from the Newsletter of the Germany embassy in La Paz)

Founding members and board

The Fundación Pueblo was founded by two German nationals, Barbara Heiss and  Günther Schulz-Heiss. The special education teacher and economist came to know and love the country and its people over several years of work stays. They supported self-help institutions in Yanacachi – parent groups, women’s associations, farming communities and encouraged community development.

These initiatives, which similarly motivated friends in Bolivia and Germany combined, resulted in the 1991 acquisition of two simple houses in the village centre, which as a sign of the durability of the commitment, were transferred to a new Bolivian legal entity – Fundación Pueblo.

The commitment of the Foundation’s founders is to this day honorary. In 2014 the Federal Cross of Merit was awarded by Germany’s Federal President Gauck.

The representative of the district of Yanacachi is currently, also honorary, Reynaldo Uría, who has for decades campaigned for the development of his home district and who has already more than once won the confidence of the General Assembly of the Fundación Pueblo. He ensures participation and ‘grounding’ at board level of the Foundation Pueblo of the target groups and is an important guarantee of the transparency of the Foundation’s work.

Der Gesamtvorstand der Stiftung bei der Vollversammlung in Yanacachi

The foundation’s executive board in the anual general assembly in Yanacachi (from the left: Günther Schulz-Heiss, Barbara Heiss, Reynaldo Uria)

Fundación Pueblo 2019, La Paz.
All content is licensed under Creative Commons CC BY 4.0.

Gründung

Die Fundación Pueblo ( dt.: Dorfstiftung) wurde am 18. Februar 1991 im bolivianischen Andendorf Yanacachi gegründet. Dies ist eine der historischen Kreishauptstädte der Provinz Süd Yungas in den Andentälern von La Paz. Die bolivianische Regierung hat die Fundación Pueblo 1992 per Präsidentialdekret Nr. 210445 als gemeinnützige Stiftung anerkannt. Sie wurde gemäß des Gesetzes Nr. 351 zur Anerkennung von Rechtspersonen im Jahr 2013 auch im neuen bolivianischen Autonomie-Ministerium registriert.

Die Stiftung ist konfessionell und parteipolitisch unabhängig. Das wurde in den Statuten fest verankert.

Keine Rockefeller-Stiftung

Das von den Gründern eingebrachte Stiftungsvermögen besteht aus zwei kleinen Gebäuden in Yanacachi: Ein Haus direkt am Dorfplatz, das bis zum heutigen Tage als Dorfdienstleistungsbüro genutzt wird, und dem „Haus des Lehrers“, das im Laufe der Stiftungsgeschichte verschiedene soziale Funktionen im Dorf erfüllen konnte. Durch das Engagement der Freunde und Förderer ist vor einigen Jahren ein mehrgeschossiges Haus in El Alto vor den Toren der Stadt La Paz hinzugekommen, das als Herberge und Begegnungszentrum für Frauen vom Land genutzt wird. Die Mittel für die Durchführung der Programme und Projekte stammen aus laufenden Spenden und besonderen Zuwendungen der Gründer, Freunde und Partnerorganisationen der Fundación Pueblo.

Transparenz und Partizipation

Der Vorstand der Stiftung setzt sich aus den beiden Gründungsmitgliedern Günther Schulz-Heiss und Barbara Heiss sowie einem Vertreter des Landkreises Yanacachi zusammen. Den Statuten entsprechend wird dieser von den Bewohnern des Heimatlandkreises der Fundación Pueblo für jeweils zwei Jahre aus ihrer Mitte gewählt. Der Exekutivdirektor, der für die Leitung der täglichen Stiftungsarbeit verantwortlich ist, wird vom Vorstand für eine ebenfalls zweijährige Amtsdauer berufen. Er legt dem Vorstand Jahrespläne vor und berichtet über deren Umsetzung.

Um die Partizipation der Zielgruppen, die Transparenz und “Erdung“ der Stiftung sicher zu stellen findet jährlich eine öffentliche Versammlung der Fundación Pueblo in Yanacachi statt. Alle Mitarbeiter der Stiftung legen dann Rechenschaft über die Projektaktivitäten im Vorjahr ab und nehmen Vorschläge für neue Initiativen entgegen. Dieses Verfahren ist in den Statuten verankert und  für Nichtregierungsorganisationen recht ungewöhnlich.

Anerkennung hüben und drüben

An den Wänden des Stiftungsbüros in Yanacachi hängen viele Schreiben und  Anerkennungsurkunden von unseren Zielgruppen, Partnerorganisationen und Gemeindevertretern, die  20 Jahre kontinuierliche Arbeit vor Ort widerspiegeln. Eine regelmäßige Berichterstattung in den bolivianischen Medien zeugt von der Anerkennung der Arbeit der Stiftung in Bolivien.

Von der Regionalorganisation der Vereinten Nationen CEPAL wurde das Stiftungsprogramm „Zugang zu Primarschulbildung – Schülerpension in Gastfamilien“ 2007 als eine der besten sozialen Innovationen Lateinamerikas prämiert (vgl. PDF von UNICEF, in spanisch). 2014 wurden die Gründer der Fundación Pueblo von Bundespräsident Gauck für ihr zivilgesellschaftliches Engagement mit dem Bundesverdienstkreuz ausgezeichnet (lesen Sie dazu einen Artikel des Newsletters der Deutschen Botschaft La Paz).

Gründungsmitglieder und Vorstand

Die Fundación Pueblo wurde von zwei deutschen Staatsbürgern, Barbara Heiss und Günther Schulz-Heiss, gegründet. Die Sonderpädagogin und der Volkswirt hatten in mehrjährigen Arbeitsaufenthalten in Bolivien das Land und seine Menschen kennen und lieben gelernt. Sie unterstützten Selbsthilfeeinrichtungen in Yanacachi – Elterngruppen, Frauenvereine, Bauernschaften und regten die Gemeindeentwicklung an.

Diese Initiativen, der sich ähnlich motivierte Freunde in Bolivien und in Deutschland anschlossen, mündeten 1991 im Erwerb von zwei einfachen Häusern im Dorfzentrum, die als Zeichen der Dauerhaftigkeit des Engagements einer neuen, bolivianischen Rechtsperson übertragen wurden:  der Fundación Pueblo.

Das Engagement der Stiftungsgründer ist bis zum heutigen Tage ehrenamtlich. Es wurde 2014 von Bundespräsident Gauck mit dem Bundesverdienstkreuz gewürdigt.

Der Vertreter des Landkreises Yanacachi ist derzeit – ebenfalls ehrenamtlich –  Reynaldo Uría, der sich seit Jahrzehnten für die Entwicklung seines Heimatlandkreises stark macht und bereits mehrfach das Vertrauen der Vollversammlung der Fundación Pueblo gewinnen konnte. Er sorgt auf Vorstandsebene für Partizipation und „Erdung“ der Fundación Pueblo bei den Zielgruppen und ist ein wichtiger Garant der Transparenz der Stiftungsarbeit.

Der Gesamtvorstand der Stiftung bei der Vollversammlung in Yanacachi

Der Gesamtvorstand der Stiftung bei der Vollversammlung in Yanacachi (von links: Günther Schulz-Heiss, Barbara Heiss, Reynaldo Uria)

Spendenaktion

Fundación Pueblo 2017, La Paz.
All content is licensed under Creative Commons CC BY 4.0.