Social services and local economic development

With the innovative school programs access the Fundación Pueblo has shown that social services in the country not only serve to educate but can also become an important economic factor at the community level.

Not only the peasants’ earth

When one thinks of local economic development in the country, agriculture and animal husbandry come mostly to mind as the the traditional branches of industry of the bulk of the rural population in a country like Bolivia. Social services that are tailored to the needs and skills of the rural population can open up important new income and employment opportunities in poor and remote areas. This has been shown in the innovative school access program of the Fundación Pueblo.

Women as a rural economic factor

Peasant women, whose traditional role is the budget manager and family caregiver, can – even without formal education – contribute their skills as host mothers in the community and thereby achieve their own small income. The new, socially prestigious employment is compatible with the traditional tasks of women but strengthens their position in the family and community.

Multiple effects and sustainability

In the villages where the Fundación Pueblo can successfully establish the “Weekly Boarding in Indigenous Families” project there is soon a measurable economic factor in the village. This is  because the host mothers are using their new income mostly for the purchase of food produced in the municipality itself. Student board as a new service provider  stimulates the local demand and economic development measurably and sustainably through a knock-on effect.

The now long-standing experience of the Fundación Pueblo in this area shows that the construction of this new social service in the communities can be an important factor to keep the widespread rural exodus in check. Whoever has a respected employment and an income in their own village finds the alternative of an initially promising but ultimately uncertain migration to the city less attractive.

In order that a Fundación Pueblo initiated project can become a sustainable social service, a sustainability strategy is needed, the development and implementation  of which can insure that the Foundation can achieve considerable continuing success.

Fundación Pueblo 2018, La Paz.
All content is licensed under Creative Commons CC BY 4.0.

Soziale Dienstleistungen und lokale Wirtschaftsentwicklung

Mit innovativen Schulzugangsprogrammen hat die Fundación Pueblo gezeigt, dass soziale Dienstleistungen auf dem Lande nicht nur der Bildung dienen, sondern auch zu einem wichtigen Wirtschaftsfaktor auf Gemeindeebene werden können.

Nicht nur von der bäuerlichen Scholle

Wer an lokale Wirtschaftsentwicklung auf dem Lande denkt, hat zumeist Landwirtschaft und Viehzucht vor Augen, die traditionellen Erwerbszweige des Großteils der ländlichen Bevölkerung in einem Staat wie Bolivien. Soziale Dienstleistungen, die auf die Bedürfnisse und Fähigkeiten der ländlichen Bevölkerung zugeschnitten sind, können jedoch auch in armen und abgelegenen Gebieten wichtige neuen Einkommens- und Beschäftigungsmöglichkeiten eröffnen. Das haben die innovativen Schulzugangsprogramme der Fundación Pueblo gezeigt.

Frauen als ländlicher Wirtschaftsfaktor

Bauersfrauen, deren traditionelle Rolle die der Haushaltsmanagerin und Familienbetreuerin ist, können – auch ohne formelle Bildung – ihre Fähigkeiten als Gastmütter in der Gemeinde einbringen und dadurch ein eigenes kleines Einkommen erzielen. Die neue, sozial angesehene Beschäftigung ist mit den althergebrachten Aufgaben der Frauen vereinbar, stärkt aber deren Position in Familie und Gemeinde.

Multiplikatoreneffekte und Nachhaltigkeit

In den Dörfern, in denen die Fundación Pueblo eine „Schülerpension in Gastfamilien“ erfolgreich etablieren konnte, wird sie bald zu einem messbaren Wirtschaftsfaktor im Dorf. Denn die Gastmütter verwenden ihr neues Einkommen zum großen Teil für den Kauf von Lebensmitteln, die in der Gemeinde selbst produziert werden. Die Schülerpension als neuer Dienstleistungsbetrieb stimuliert über diesen Multiplikatoreneffekt die lokale Nachfrage und Wirtschaftsentwicklung messbar und nachhaltig.

Die mittlerweile langjährigen Erfahrungen der Fundación Pueblo in diesem Bereich zeigen, dass der Aufbau dieser neuen sozialen Dienstleistungen in den Gemeinden ein wichtiger Faktor sein kann, die weit verbreitete Landflucht in Grenzen zu halten. Wer eine angesehene Beschäftigung und ein Einkommen im eigenen Dorf hat, empfindet die Alternative einer zunächst vielversprechenden aber letztendlich unsicheren  Abwanderung in die Städte wenig attraktiv.

Damit aus einem von der Fundación Pueblo initiierten Projekt ein dauerhafter sozialer Betrieb wird, bedarf es einer Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie, bei deren Entwicklung und Umsetzung die Stiftung beachtliche Erfolge erzielen konnte.

Spendenaktion

Fundación Pueblo 2017, La Paz.
All content is licensed under Creative Commons CC BY 4.0.