Sustainability: do good well

“Do good well” means that that projects initiated with our help through our initial funding must also endure. We have successfully implemented this requirement of sustainability in our school access programs.

Sustainability as a challenge

The sustainability of development and development projects is the subject of extensive international debate and literature. From the “grassroots” perspective of Fundación Pueblo the question is relatively simple – whether initiatives can endure beyond our initial funding and help.

The requirement of sustainability is not an insignificant goal for an organisation the size of Fundación Pueblo, and its implementation is often tedious. The temptation  is great to take on more solidarity projects, however we feel obligated and committed to the sustainability of our existing projects.

Proven sustainability strategy

Our “Weekly Boarding in Indigenous Families” program which we have been able to initiate thanks to the solidarity of friends and supporters, has proven its sustainability.  After initial years of pure “Assistenzialismus” that were useful and necessary for field testing, we have begun to start new projects of this kind only in those municipalities whose counties from the outset undertake to commit to a progressive assumption of the costs and responsibility for the “Weekly Boarding in Indigenous Families” . This is done in the communities, their grassroots organisations appreciate the project and take advantage of their opportunities for participation at the district level, so that with a gradual takeover of the projects they themselves can strengthen the municiple education policy and the corresponding budget estimates.

Fruits of sustainability

If this approach means that despite existing demand and interest we can not support a few municipalities it is hard for everyone involved – especially for the Fundación Pueblo. On the other hand, it fills us with joy and satisfaction that even years after the end of support from Fundación Pueblo some “Weekly Boarding in Indigenous Families”  projects are still in operation. These achievements allow us to use donations to spread the model into other counties and to send solidarity to our friends in an ever growing circle of need.

In other programs of the Foundation, such as vocational training and civics, sustainability beyond  the support of our friends and supporters also remains a challenge, which we continue to work with confidence to achieve.

Fundación Pueblo 2019, La Paz.
All content is licensed under Creative Commons CC BY 4.0.

Nachhaltigkeit: Gutes gut tun

„Gutes gut tun“ bedeutet für die Fundación Pueblo, dass die mit unserer Hilfe angestoßenen Initiativen über unsere Anfangsförderung hinaus Bestand haben. Diesen Anspruch auf Nachhaltigkeit konnten wir erfolgreich in unseren Schulzugangsprogrammen umsetzen.

Nachhaltigkeit als Herausforderung

Die Nachhaltigkeit von Entwicklung und Entwicklungsprojekten ist Gegenstand einer umfangreichen internationalen Debatte und Literatur. Aus der „Grasswurzel“-Perspektive der Fundación Pueblo geht es um die relativ einfache Frage, ob die von den Zielgruppen und mit unserer Hilfe angestoßenen Initiativen über unsere Anfangsförderung hinaus Bestand haben.

Der Anspruch allein ist für eine Organisation in der Größe der Dorfstiftung nicht unerheblich, ihre Umsetzung oft mühsam. Groß ist die Verlockung, Projekte mit der Solidarität Dritter am Leben zu erhalten. Dennoch fühlen wir uns dem Anspruch auf Nachhaltigkeit unserer Programme und Projekte verpflichtet.

Erprobte Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie

In unseren Schulzugangsprogrammen, die wir dank der Solidarität unserer Freunde und Förderer initiieren konnten, ist uns dies gelungen. Nach anfänglichen Jahren reinen „Assistenzialismus“, die zur Felderprobung sinnvoll und notwendig waren, sind wir dazu übergegangen, neue Projekte dieser Art nur noch in solchen Gemeinden zu beginnen, deren Landkreise sich von vornherein zu einer progressiven Übernahme der Kosten und Verantwortung für die „Schülerpension in Gastfamilien“ verpflichten. Dies gelingt in den Gemeinden, deren Basisorganisationen das Projekt wertschätzen und ihre Mitwirkungsmöglichkeiten auf Kreisebene nutzen, um sich für eine sukzessive Übernahme der Projekte in die kommunale Bildungspolitik und die entsprechenden Haushaltsansätze stark zu machen.

Früchte der Nachhaltigkeit

Wenn dieser Ansatz dazu führt, dass wir einige Gemeinden trotz bestehenden Bedarfs und Interesses nicht unterstützen können, ist das hart für alle Beteiligten – allen voran für die Fundación Pueblo. Auf der anderen Seite erfüllt es uns mit Freude und Genugtuung, die „Schülerpensionen in Gastfamilien“ auch Jahre nach Ende der Unterstützung durch Fundación Pueblo in vollem Betrieb zu sehen. Diese Erfolge erlauben es uns auch, Spendengelder dafür einzusetzen, das Modell in weiteren Landkreisen zu verbreiten und die Solidarität unserer Freunde einem ständig wachsenden Kreis von Bedürftigen zukommen zu lassen.

In anderen Programmen der Stiftung, wie Berufsbildung und Staatsbürgerkunde, ist die Nachhaltigkeit über die Unterstützung unserer Freunde und Förderer hinaus noch eine Herausforderung, an der wir noch – mit Zuversicht – arbeiten.

Spendenaktion

Fundación Pueblo 2017, La Paz.
All content is licensed under Creative Commons CC BY 4.0.