Access to Civic Information

Civil society in Bolivia has significant opportunities for participation in public spending at the local level. To be able to use it better the civics project of Fundación Pueblo provides citizens and their grass-roots organisations access to any important information concerning local politics.

Civil society rights through access to better information

The civil society and its organisations have played an important role in the turbulent history of Bolivia. They were the players of the national revolution of 1952, they abolished the large estates and introduced universal suffrage. They were responsible for the recovery of democracy after the military dictatorships of the 70s and 80s. Since the law on citizens’ participation in the 90s, the citizens and their grass-roots organisations have been granted  significant participation rights in the design of public budgets at the local level (urban and rural districts). This is effective to use but requires access to relevant civic information which is in the country in particular still very limited.

With our program “Acceso Público” (“open access”) Fundación Pueblo supports disadvantaged groups of Bolivian civil society, allowing them to take a qualified part in public discussion and decision making processes through the timely dissemination of relevant information. The project “Informed citizen participation” puts this approach into action at a local level, in order to strengthen the possibilities of the participation of the 30 municipalities in our home county Yanachaci.

Send via several channels simultaneously

The project was able to expand its social base in the district in recent years with a number of cooperation agreements with local community-based organisations and through the use a range of different media and forms of communication for civic education. These include the ongoing reports that are produced by our country radio reporter about interesting topics in current local politics from the communities of the region and aired by our cooperation partner “Radio Yungas”.

In the Information Bulletin “Datos & Hechos de los Yungas”  the main reports are summarised on a monthly basis and supplemented by contributions from the Berlin office. On special occasions special editions come out, e.g. during the census and the local election results.

In public events the civics topics which are particularly in demand from the grass-roots organisations in the district are dealt with. These include lectures on the new mining laws and educational reform and workshops on Leadership in social grassroots organisations. The professional speakers are obtained from competent government bodies or civil society organisations. The project archive with local and generally politically relevant laws and decrees is primarily used by the directors of the grassroots groups. It is available at our headquarters in Yanacachi in the village service office of the Foundation.  There there is also assistance for the citizens in the writing of documents and petitions. 

Following a suggestion at the annual meeting of the foundation, a public library was established on the occasion of the opening of an open youth leisure space  (“Anatañani”). The target group of the project was extended to the students of the center school.

[From the “Anatañani” – a lending library for  students to use.]

Listen to what the listeners say

At the end of 2014, a listener and reader survey on media use of the project was carried out in various communities of the county. The results show that “Radio Yungas” continues to play a pioneering role in the audio media in this rural region, and that the information bulletin “Datos & Hechos en los Yungas”, one of the few  examples of written media in the district, continues to provide important and valued information about social affairs  to the local  population.

Fundación Pueblo 2018, La Paz.
All content is licensed under Creative Commons CC BY 4.0.

Zugang zu staatsbürgerlicher Information

Die Zivilgesellschaft in Bolivien verfügt über erhebliche Mitwirkungsmöglichkeiten bei der öffentlichen Ausgabengestaltung auf lokaler Ebene. Um diese besser nutzen zu können, verschafft das Staatsbürgerkunde-Projekt der Fundación Pueblo Bürgern und ihren Basisorganisationen Zugang zu kommunalpolitisch wichtigen Informationen.

Zivilgesellschaftliche Rechte durch bessere Informationen nutzen

Die Zivilgesellschaft und ihre Organisationen spielen eine wichtige Rolle in der wechselvollen Geschichte Boliviens. Sie waren die Akteure der nationalen Revolution von 1952, durch die der Großgrundbesitz abgeschafft und das allgemeine Wahlrecht eingeführt wurde. Sie waren für die Widergewinnung der Demokratie nach den Militärdiktaturen der 70er und 80er Jahre verantwortlich. Seit dem Gesetz zur Bürgerbeteiligung in den 90er Jahren wurden den Staatsbürgern und ihren Basisorganisationen erhebliche Mitwirkungsrechte bei der Gestaltung der öffentlichen Haushalte auf kommunaler Ebene (Stadt- und Landkreise) eingeräumt. Diese wirkungsvoll zu nutzen, erfordert jedoch den Zugang zu staatsbürgerlich relevanten Informationen, der insbesondere auf dem Lande jedoch noch sehr begrenzt ist.

Mit unserem Programm „Acceso Público“ („freier Zugang“) unterstützt Fundación Pueblo benachteiligte Gruppen der bolivianischen Zivilgesellschaft, mit zeitnahen und relevanten Informationen an öffentlichen Diskussions- und Entscheidungsprozessen qualifiziert teilnehmen zu können. Das Projekt „Informierte Bürgerbeteiligung“ setzt diesen Ansatz auf kommunaler Ebene um, um die Mitwirkungsmöglichkeiten der 30 Gemeinden in unserem Heimatlandkreis Yanacachi zu stärken.

Auf mehreren Kanälen gleichzeitig senden

Das Projekt konnte in den letzten Jahren seine soziale Grundlage im Landkreis in einer Reihe von Kooperationsvereinbarungen mit lokalen Basisorganisationen ausweiten und eine Palette verschiedener Medien und Kommunikationsformen zur staatsbürgerlichen Bildung einsetzen. Dazu gehören die laufenden Berichte und Reportagen, die von unserem Landfunkreporter über aktuelle kommunalpolitisch interessante Themen aus den Gemeinden des Einzugsgebietes produziert und von unserem Kooperationspartner „Radio Yungas“ ausgestrahlt werden. Im Informationsbulletin „Datos & Hechos de los Yungas“ werden die wichtigsten Berichte monatlich zusammengefasst und durch Beiträge aus dem Hauptstadtbüro ergänzt. a

In öffentlichen Veranstaltungen zur Staatsbürgerkunde werden Themen bearbeitet, die von den Basisorganisationen im Landkreis besonders nachgefragt werden. Dazu gehören zum Beispiel Vortragsveranstaltungen zu den neuen Erziehungsreform- und Bergbaugesetzen sowie Workshops zum Thema Leadership bei sozialen Basisorganisationen. Als Referenten werden Fachleute zuständiger Regierungsstellen oder befreundeter Zivilgesellschaftsorganisationen gewonnen. Das Projektarchiv mit kommunal- und allgemeinpolitisch relevanten Gesetzen und Erlassen wird vor allem von den Vorständen der Basisgruppen genutzt. Es ist im Dorfdienstleistungsbüro der Stiftung an unserem Stammsitz in Yanacachi zugänglich. Dort ist man auch schreibungewandten Mitbürgern im Dorf beim Aufsetzen von Schriftstücken und Petitionen behilflich.

Einer Anregung bei der Jahresversammlung der Stiftung folgend, wurde der Aufbau einer öffentlichen Bibliothek zum Anlass für die Eröffnung eines offenen Jugendfreizeitraumes („Anatañani“) gemacht. Die Zielgruppe des Projektes wurde auf die Schüler der Mittelpunktschule ausgeweitet. Von der „Anatañani“-Leihbibliothek machen vor allem Schüler Gebrauch.

Hören, was die Hörer sagen

Ende 2014 wurde eine Hörer- und Leserbefragung zur Mediennutzung des Projektes in verschiedenen Gemeinden des Landkreises durchgeführt. Die Ergebnisse zeigen, dass „Radio Yungas“ weiterhin eine Vorreiterstellung bei den Hörmedien in dieser ländlichen Region einnimmt, und dass das Informationsbulletin „Datos & Hechos en los Yungas“ eines der wenigen Schriftmedien ist, das der Bevölkerung im Landkreis zur Information über Kommunales zur Verfügung steht.

Spendenaktion

Fundación Pueblo 2017, La Paz.
All content is licensed under Creative Commons CC BY 4.0.