Women in El Alto continue their education and celebrate their successes

Monday November 30th, 2020

A turbulent year is slowly coming to an end. In November, we were able to hand over certificates to another 148 graduates of the vocational training courses in El Alto. During the last few months, the women learned how to make salteñas, a Bolivian speciality, or how to bake bread, for example, partly digitally and partly in face-to-face classes. There were also more technical courses. For example, some participants learned how to repair computers or digital marketing.

In addition, the long-awaited driving courses took place this month. They are aimed at women whose families already own a vehicle and are thus involved in public transport. With a driving licence, the women can also work as minibus drivers and thus contribute to the family’s income.

Elena Catarí Ortiz (41) explains: “I have three children. The oldest is 18 years old, she was born with a disability. I could not continue my career as a secretarial assistant. I was always looking for a job where I could take her with me, but it was impossible. Thanks to this course, there is possibility to work as a bus driver for my daughter’s school.”

 

 

 

Fundación Pueblo 2021, La Paz.
All content is licensed under Creative Commons CC BY 4.0.

Frauen in El Alto bilden sich weiter und feiern ihre Erfolge

Montag, der 30. November 2020

Ein turbulentes Jahr neigt sich langsam dem Ende zu. Im November konnten wir weiteren 148 Absolventinnen der beruflichen Weiterbildungskurse in El Alto ihre Zertifikate überreichen. Die letzten Monate lernten die Frauen teils digital, teils im Präsenzunterricht zum Beispiel die Herstellung von Salteñas, einer bolivianischen Spezialität, oder das Backen von Brot. Auch eher technische Kurse gab es. So eigneten sich einige Teilnehmerinnen Kenntnisse in der Reparatur von Computern oder im digitalen Marketing an.

Außerdem fanden diesen Monat die lang ersehnten Fahrschulkurse statt. Sie richten sich an Frauen, deren Familien bereits ein Fahrzeug besitzen und damit im öffentlichen Nahverkehr tätig sind. Mit einem Führerschein können auch die Frauen als Minibusfahrerinnen arbeiten und so zum Einkommen der Familie beitragen.

Elena Catarí Ortiz (41) erzählt: „Ich habe drei Kinder. Die Älteste ist 18 Jahre alt, sie wurde mit einer Behinderung geboren. Ich konnte meine Karriere als Sekretariatsassistentin nicht fortsetzen. Ich suchte immer nach einer Arbeitsstelle, wo ich sie mitnehmen konnte, aber es war unmöglich. Dank dieses Kurses besteht Möglichkeit als Busfahrerin für die Schule meiner Tochter zu arbeiten.“

 

 

Fundación Pueblo 2021, La Paz.
All content is licensed under Creative Commons CC BY 4.0.