Almost two years of Covid-19 pandemic in Bolivia

Tuesday November 30th, 2021

At the beginning of autumn, Germany was affected by the fourth Covid-19 wave. In this context, vaccinations are currently a highly discussed topic in society. But what is the situation actually like in Bolivia?

In Bolivia, the vaccination campaign began in February 2021, with Sinopharm and Sputnik V being the main vaccines, but also Johnson & Johnson, AstraZeneca and BioNtech. So far, around 43% of the Bolivian population (as of the end of November 2021) has been vaccinated at least once. While there is sufficient vaccine in the large cities, such as La Paz or Santa Cruz, and the vaccination rates clearly exceed the national average, there is a lack of vaccine and health information, especially in rural areas. This is also evident in our Weekly Boarding School in Indigenous Families. The majority of teachers and many older people in Tentaguazu and Copacabana are already vaccinated as they have been prioritised. However, most of the older students and many young people are still waiting until there is enough vaccine for them as well.

A fourth wave of Covid-19 is also on the horizon in Bolivia. The number of infected people has been rising again for a good eight weeks. In view of the low vaccination rate, the disastrous health system and the new Omikron variant, it can be assumed that Bolivia is heading for further hard months, which will hit the poor population particularly hard.

 

 

Fundación Pueblo 2022, La Paz.
All content is licensed under Creative Commons CC BY 4.0.

Fast zwei Jahre Covid-19 Pandemie in Bolivien

Dienstag, der 30. November 2021

Mit Beginn des Herbsts wurde Deutschland von der vierten Covid-19 Welle erfasst. In diesem Zusammenhang sind die Impfungen zurzeit ein gesellschaftlich stark diskutiertes Thema. Aber wie sieht die Situation eigentlich in Bolivien aus?

In Bolivien begann die Impfkampagne im Februar 2021. Geimpft wird v.a. mit Sinopharm und Sputnik V, aber auch mit Johnson & Johnson, AstraZeneca und BioNtech. Bisher wurden rund 43% der bolivianischen Bevölkerung (Stand: Ende November 2021) mindestens einmal geimpft. Während in den großen Städten, wie La Paz oder Santa Cruz, ausreichend Impfstoff vorhanden ist und die Impfraten den nationalen Durchschnitt deutlich übersteigen, mangelt es insb. auf dem Land an Impfstoff und an gesundheitlicher Information. Dies wird auch in unseren Schülerpensionen deutlich. Die Mehrheit der Lehrkräfte sowie viele ältere Personen sind in Tentaguazu und Copacabana bereits geimpft, da sie priorisiert wurden. Die meisten älteren Schüler*innen und viele junge Menschen warten jedoch weiterhin bis es auch für sie ausreichend Impfstoff gibt.

Auch in Bolivien bahnt sich aktuell eine vierte Covid-19 Welle an. Seit gut acht Wochen steigt die Anzahl der Infizierten wieder an. Angesichts der niedrigen Impfrate, des desaströsen Gesundheitssystems und der neuen Omikron-Variante ist davon auszugehen, dass Bolivien auf weitere harte Monate zusteuert, die besonders die arme Bevölkerung hart treffen werden.

 

 

Fundación Pueblo 2022, La Paz.
All content is licensed under Creative Commons CC BY 4.0.