Well-informed to the Municipal Elections in March 2021

Sunday January 31st, 2021

The more than 300 municipal governments in Bolivia – most of them rural – can provide important impulses for the development and well-being of their citizens, thanks to important sources of income and a considerable degree of management autonomy. Therefore, the Municipal Elections called for March 7, 2021, constitute an ideal opportunity for citizens to participate in a reflection and debate on the development vision of their immediate environment, and to influence the selection of the municipal legislators and executives that best suit their preferences.

However, in practice, municipal elections in rural areas are often reduced to a mere choice between party acronyms, due to a lack of public knowledge of the candidates behind the acronyms and their specific programmes.

Therefore, in Fundación Pueblo’s home municipality of Yanacachi, civil organisations, authorities and citizens committed to the development of their territory have formed an “Alliance for an Informed Vote” with the aim of getting to know each of the candidates for Mayor and Councillor and their proposals, and to make the candidates aware of the outstanding concerns of the civil population. At the request of the Alliance, the programme “Acceso Público” supports this initiative in a professional and non-partisan manner, with interviews and news on Radio Yungas as well as special editions of the bulletin “Datos y Hechos de los Yungas”. The Alliance even proposes to sponsor a public debate between the candidates, moderated by an external professional, in a transparent, neutral and peaceful manner, before March 7th. Decisive times for the Municipality of Yanacachi.

 

 

Fundación Pueblo 2021, La Paz.
All content is licensed under Creative Commons CC BY 4.0.

Gut informiert für die Landkreiswahlen im März 2021

Sonntag, der 31. Januar 2021

Die mehr als 300 Gemeindeverwaltungen in Bolivien – zumeist auf dem Land – können dank wichtiger Einnahme-quellen und einem hohen Maß an Verwaltungsautonomie wichtige Impulse für die Entwicklung und das Wohler-gehen der Bürger*innen geben. Daher sind die für den 7. März 2021 einberufenen Kommunalwahlen eine ideale Gelegenheit für die Bürger*innen, sich an den Debatten über die Entwicklungsvisionen ihrer unmittelbaren Umgebung zu beteiligen und die Auswahl der Politiker*innen und der kommunalen Führungskräfte zu beeinflussen, die ihren Präferenzen am besten entsprechen.

In der Praxis reduzieren sich die Kommunalwahlen in ländlichen Gebieten jedoch oft auf eine bloße Wahl zwischen Parteikürzeln, da die Öffentlichkeit die Kandidat*innen hinter den Kürzeln und ihre spezifischen Programme nicht kennt.

Deshalb haben sich in der Heimatgemeinde der Fundación Pueblo, Yanacachi, zivile Organisationen, Behörden und Bürger, die sich für die Entwicklung ihrer Heimat engagieren, zu einer „Allianz für eine informierte Wahl“ zusammengeschlossen, mit dem Ziel, jeden der Kandidat*innen für das Amt des Bürgermeisters und des Stadtrats und deren Vorschläge kennenzulernen und die Kandidat*innen auf die Anliegen der Zivilbevölkerung aufmerksam zu machen. Auf Wunsch der Allianz unterstützt das Programm „Acceso Público“ diese Initiative auf professionelle und überparteiliche Weise mit Interviews und Nachrichten auf Radio Yungas sowie mit Sonderausgaben des Bulletins „Datos y Hechos de los Yungas“. Das Bündnis schlägt sogar vor, vor dem 7. März eine öffentliche Debatte zwischen den Kandidat*innen zu veranstalten, die von einer externen Fachperson auf transparente, neutrale und friedliche Weise moderiert wird. Entscheidende Zeiten für die Stadtverwaltung von Yanacachi.

 

 

Fundación Pueblo 2021, La Paz.
All content is licensed under Creative Commons CC BY 4.0.